Welcome to the ANU School of Engineering! In these pages you will find a diverse, inclusive, and vibrant community of students, educators, scholars, and professionals, all dedicated to discovery and to having meaningful impact locally, nationally, and globally.

We aim to tackle wicked problems that span traditional disciplinary boundaries in areas such as renewable energy, the hydrogen economy, materials, robotics, mechatronics, and information and signal processing; redefining the art of the possible in aerospace, energy, environmental, and autonomous systems. We collaborate with researchers around the world from a range of globally recognised Universities as well as with numerous partners in industry and all levels of government. We acknowledge the traditional custodians of the lands that make up this continent, especially as accomplished engineers, and we pay our respects to elders both past and present. Our nascent Indigenous Engineering Design Studio will serve as a focal point for our current and future engagements with Indigenous-led organisations and in support of First Nations students studying engineering.

Our interdisciplinary approach is embedded in our educational programs through our unique systems engineering focus in both our undergraduate and postgraduate programs. Not only do our graduates attain deep expertise in a chosen discipline, they also learn to analyse, design, operate, and decommission complex systems of systems that include not just technical elements, but which are grounded in their social, environmental, and economic contexts. Our students compete in several national and international competitions including the World Solar Car Challenge, Formula SAE, Rocketry, and Maritime RobotX. Aligned with our Engineering Minor in Humanitarian Engineering, we host a student chapter of Engineers Without Borders and we work closely with ANU Fifty50 in support of gender equity in STEM across the ANU.

Our physical infrastructure includes world-class research and teaching laboratories as well as state-of-the-art facilities, including our MakerSpace and Workshop facilities, that are available to students, staff, and other collaborative partners.

I welcome you to explore these pages and, if you’d like to know more about studying, collaborating, or working with us—reach out!

Chris Kellett Director, ANU School of Engineering

Address

ANU School of Engineering
31 North Road
Acton, ACT 2601
AUSTRALIA

General Enquiries

admin.eng@anu.edu.au
+61 (02) 6125 4411

Key Contacts

Director Christopher Kellett director.eng@anu.edu.au
Executive Assistant Briege Exton briege.exton@anu.edu.au
School Manager Neil Kaines sm.eng@anu.edu.au
Deputy Director Kylie Catchpole kylie.catchpole@anu.edu.au
Associate Director - Education Salman Durrani salman.durrani@anu.edu.au
Engagement & Impact Lead Lachlan Blackhall engagement.eng@anu.edu.au
Aerospace Cluster Lead Katia Bazaka katia.bazaka@anu.edu.au
Energy Cluster Lead Klaus Weber klaus.weber@anu.edu.au
Environment Cluster Lead Lachlan Blackhall lachlan.blackhall@anu.edu.au
Information & Signal Processing Lead Nan Yang nan.yang@anu.edu.au
Mechatronics Cluster Lead Iman Shames iman.shames@anu.edu.au
Technical Services Manager Beatriz Velasco beatriz.velasco@anu.edu.au

Location

The ANU School of Engineering occupies five buildings on the Acton campus of ANU:

  • Engineering Building 32
  • Craig Building 35A
  • Ian Ross Building 31
  • Brian Anderson Building 115
  • Birch Building 35

You are on Aboriginal land.

The Australian National University acknowledges, celebrates and pays our respects to the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people of the Canberra region and to all First Nations Australians on whose traditional lands we meet and work, and whose cultures are among the oldest continuing cultures in human history.

bars search times arrow-up