Travis Waller


Picture of Travis Waller



Google Scholar



Transportation planning, engineering and modelling


Professor Waller is a global research leader in the domain of transportation network modelling and simulation particularly integrated planning models (including emerging technology as well as ethics/equity metrics), dynamic traffic assignment, and adaptive network equilibrium. In the past 20 years, he has secured $30m+ in total research funding. He has published more than 200 peer-reviewed journal papers, supervised 38 completed PhD students and conducted over 60 funded research projects for 40 global sponsors.


Steven “Travis” Waller is the Lighthouse Professor and Chair of Transport Modeling and Simulation at the Technical University of Dresden, Germany as well as a Professor at the Australian National University. Until recently he was a Professor and the Head of School (for Civil and Environmental Engineering) at UNSW Sydney where he led a new School vision of “Ethical Civil Infrastructure and Sustainable Environments”. Further, at UNSW, Travis was previously the Deputy Dean of Research for the Faculty of Engineering as well as the Founding Director and Executive Director of the Research Centre for Integrated Transport Innovation (rCITI).

He began his tenure-track and tenured career at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and, subsequently, at the University of Texas at Austin (where he was promoted to full Professor in 2011 as well as being the lead investigator and founding Director for a U.S. National Science Foundation Industry-University Cooperative Research Center on the convergence of electricity and transportation).

Activities & Awards

In 2003, Professor Waller was named one of the top 100 innovators in science and engineering in the world under 35 years of age by MIT’s Technology Review magazine for his work on dynamic traffic analysis. In 2004, he received the U.S. National Science Foundation CAREER award for his proposed research and teaching plan on adaptive network equilibrium. In 2006, he was the recipient of the Annual New Faculty Award sponsored by the Council of University Transportation Centers and the American Road and Transportation Builders Association (noting both research and teaching accomplishments). In 2007, he was named a Fellow of the Clyde E. Lee Endowed Professorship in Transportation Engineering. In 2008, he was named to the Phil M. Ferguson Teaching Fellowship in Civil Engineering. In addition, he received (from the U.S. Transportation Research Board, TRB, which is a division of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering) the Fred Burggraf Award in 2009, the Hojjat Adeli Award for Innovations in Computing in 2012, the TRB Pyke Johnson Award in 2019 and named a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia in 2021.

You are on Aboriginal land.

The Australian National University acknowledges, celebrates and pays our respects to the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people of the Canberra region and to all First Nations Australians on whose traditional lands we meet and work, and whose cultures are among the oldest continuing cultures in human history.

bars search times arrow-up