Professor Wojciech Lipinski

Leader, ANU Solar Thermal Group
Dr Sc. Techn., Habil.
+61 2 61 25 7896

Wojciech Lipiński is Honorary Professor and Leader of the Solar Thermal Group at the Australian National University. He obtained his Master of Science degree in environmental engineering from Warsaw University of Technology (2000), doctorate in mechanical and process engineering from ETH Zurich (2004), and habilitation in energy technology from ETH Zurich (2009). He previously held positions of Research Associate (2004–2006) and Senior Research Associate (2006–2009) at ETH Zurich, Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota (2009–2013), and Associate Professor (2013–2015) and Professor (2016–2021) at the Australian National University.

Dr Lipiński’s research interests are in thermal, chemical and optical engineering sciences applied to solar energy technologies. His research focus is on the analysis of transport phenomena, in particular radiative transfer, and multiphase reactive flows in high-temperature solar thermal systems for power generation and chemical processing. He has published over 170 articles in refereed journals and conference proceedings, and contributed to several books, edited books and e-books.

Dr Lipiński is serving on editorial boards of Journal of Quantitative Spectroscopy and Radiative Transfer, Computational Thermal Sciences, and Solar Energy. He is a member of the Scientific Council and the Executive Committee of the International Centre for Heat and Mass Transfer. He is also involved in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the Optical Society of America, and several other professional societies. Dr Lipiński advocates for free software in engineering research and education.

Dr Lipiński's contributions to research and education have been recognised with several honours and awards including the Hilti Award for Innovative Research from ETH Zurich (2006), the College of Science and Engineering Outstanding Professor Award from the University of Minnesota (2010), the Elsevier/JQSRT Raymond Viskanta Award in Radiative Transfer (2013), the Future Fellowship by the Australian Research Council (2014), and the Yellot Award by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (2020). He is Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (2021).

Links: ORCID ID, Google Scholar

Miss Jingjing Chen »

PhD Candidate

Mr Di He »

PhD Candiate

Mr Siddharth Iyer »

PhD Student

Ms Sha Li »

PhD Student

Dr Lifeng Li »

Research officer

Fengyuan Zhang

Mr Fengyuan Zhang »

PhD Candidate

  • SG4 500-m2solar dish

    The ANU SG4 (Solar Generator 4) dish is the world's largest paraboloidal dish solar concentrator, with 489 m2 of mirror aperture area. At the focal plane it produces an average...

  • 45 kWe high-flux solar simulator

    Craig Building 35A

    A new high-flux solar simulator for high-temperature solar thermal and thermochemical research has been designed at the Australian National University. The simulator consists of 18 radiation...

  • Updated:  1 June 2019/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CECS Marketing